Category Archives: Politics

29 new members of Mion district assembly sworn in; PM election postponed

Twenty elected assembly members of the Mion District Assembly were on Tuesday sworn  by the Yendi Circuit Court Judge, Williams Appiah Twumasi. The members included 9 government appointees, two women and one representative from the community of persons living with disabilities. They were all appointed by the government. The 29 members will serve a four-year term. Mion was one…
Read more

NDC fires constituency executive for leaking confidential information

The Northern Regional Executive of Committee of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has suspended the communications officer for the Bunkpurugu constituency. Moisob Ephram Bidobi was suspended for violating Article 45 (8) and Article 46 © of the party’s constitution. The executive committee, in a statement issued in Tamale and signed by the Regional Secretary, Halid…
Read more

Angry NDC youth besiege party regional office over vetting outcome

Aggrieved youth groups from two constituencies of the National Democratic Congress in the Northern Region have besieged the party’s regional office over the stepping-down of their aspirants. The aggrieved youth, drawn from Chereponi and Yagba/Kubori denied that their candidates have decided to step-down as is being put out by the vetting committee. The District Chief…
Read more

15 aspirants battle for Tamale & Sagnarigu constituency seats

The battle  line has been drawn in the four constituencies in the Tamale Metropolis and Sagnarigu District. All the 15 aspirants who filed their nominations to contest the NDC parliamentary primaries were cleared on Sunday (yesterday) by the vetting committee of the party.

The committee’s final decision in the constituencies took several people by surprise as they expected some disqualifications of some aspirants.

While others were expecting disqualifications some were of the view that such a decision could spark violent protests judging from the euphoria that characterized the picking and filing of nominations.

In the Tamale south constituency, incumbent Member of Parliament and minister of Employment and Labour Relations, Haruna Iddrisu will face a senior lecturer of Tamale polytechnic; Mohammed Aliu affectionately called One man.

The Deputy Northern regional minister and incumbent MP for Sagnarigu is facing northern regional youth organizer of the party, Alhaji Mohammed Adam Amin popularly called Abio and Hajia Gariba Boya.

In Tamale north, a former MP, Alhaji Abukari Sumani   will face constituency secretary, Mohammed Abdul Salam, Ace Broadcaster Alhassan S. Suhuyini, immediate past Director General of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSRI), Dr Abdulai Baba Salifu, Nabila Mohammed Alhaji, Mohammed Kamaldeen Alhassan and Abdallah Mohammed Mahama.

The General Mosquito-led committee also cleared three aspirants from Tamale Central. They include incumbent Member of Parliament and roads and highways minister, Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, Engineer Alhaji Ibrahim Seidu and Adam Alhassan, a banker.

The common chorus running through, among the aspirants especially, the new entrants is change of leadership.  What those calling for change are yet to tell the public is, whether it is  change for better or for worse and also if it can give the party a resounding victory.

Before declaring the verdict of the committee, General mosquito explained the process leading to the disqualification or otherwise.