Your Most Reliable and Dependable Source

NDC Primaries: Alhassan Umar wins Zabzugu Parliamentary Elections


The former Member of Parliament for Zabzugu Constituency, Hon. Alhassan Umar, has won the NDC parliamentary primaries and will be representing the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the 2024 general elections.

Hon. Alhassan polled 321 votes out of 751 to beat his contenders. His close rival, Nauru Francis, polled 173 votes; George Tarney obtained 129 votes; and Alhassan Fusheini got 121 votes.

Speaking to his teeming supporters after the official declaration, Hon. Alhassan said he was “overwhelmed,” saying the victory is “not for Alhassan Umar, but for everyone.”

This is just the beginning of a great journey towards the national elections next year. At present there are no winners and no winners. All contestants have won. He admonishes the party’s supporters.

He called for “unity within the party” in order to snatch the seat from the ruling New Patriotic Party.

To deliver the constituency to victory in the national elections next year, “we will now require all hands on deck.” He reiterated.

He promised to reach out to all friends and collaborators, including everyone who ran for the parliamentary election in the constituency. “All constituency executives, including myself, must now be united in our desire to win the back seat. He concluded.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.