Your Most Reliable and Dependable Source

Police fired warning shots at NDC supporters



Subheader body: 

Police fired warning shots Thursday to disperse a group of Alhaji Ibrahim Seidu's supporters who had been angered by the closure of a road leading to the house of the candidate who had earlier filed his nomination papers for the November 7 NDC primaries. Jubilant supporters of Seidu's on motor bikes were reportedly on their way to Seidu's house when an armed police officer allegedly removed the key to the motorbike of one of the supporters.

The police officer's action only served to anger Seidu’s supporters who were already seething by the closure of the road. They threatened mayhem if the road was not reopened. When their demand was not met, a confrontation ensued on the premises of Zaa Radio, reports said. Two warning shots were fired by the officer to disperse the angry youth who attempted snatching the gun from the officer, officials said. Authorities also noted that the behavior of the supporters of both candidates was very likely to have caused mayhem. The officer is said to have earlier urged Seidu's supporters who were on bikes to slow down.

Seidu is attempting to unseat Alhaji Inusah Fuseini, Minister for Roads and Highways and member of Parliament for Tamale Central.  Both candidates are natives of Tishiegu and the blocked road which runs from the Post Office area to Fuseini's family house strange enough also leads to Seidu's house

Meanwhile political observers are hedging their bets on Seidu to pull a surprise in the primaries. Seidu who is a trained engineer, in an interview with the media after filing his nomination, reminded delegates on the need for change. He also made a passionate appeal to other aspirants to conduct their campaign devoid of acrimony.

The last candidate to filed his nomination was the National Chairman of Ghana Commercial Bank Employees Union, Alhassan Adam. Filing his nomination Thursday evening, Adam reiterated the need for delegates in the Tamale Central constituency to change a parliamentary candidate for the 2016 general elections. His campaign, Adam said, starts in earnest because voters in the constituency are calling for change and that he is the best choice for that change to represent the people of Tamale central. 

The Tamale central constituency chairman, Alhaji Zaapayim  advised aspirants to conduct a peaceful campaign saying it is an internal contest and there is no winner or loser.




In all four aspirants successful field to contest the Tamale central constituency.

In the Tamale North 7 field

All the seven parliamentary aspirants in the Tamale north constituency have filed their nomination forms today. The seven are a former member of parliament, Alhaji Abukari Sumani; the constituency secretary, Mohammed Abdul Salam; Ace broadcaster, Alhassan Suhiyini; immediate past CSRI director general, Dr Abdulai Baba Salifu; Mohammed Alhassan Nabila, Mahama Alhassan Kamal-Deen, an accountant with the Tamale polytechnic and Abdallah Mohammed Mahama. Abukari Sumani told delegates that when given the nod, he will continue his unfinished developmental projects.     

He also promised snatching the seat from the incumbent independent candidate, Alhassan Dahamani. Alhaji Abukari Sumani said, his record in the constituency in terms of development is non-comparable.

The Ace broadcaster with Accra base FM, Radio Gold, Alhassan Suhiyini, advised other aspirants not to use violence in their political activities since they are all for the betterment of the party and country at large.

“Mission is to give the best representation ever and make Tamale north a constituency comparable to any constituency in the country’’ Suhiyini told delegates.

Mahama Alhassan Kamaldeen on his part promised assisting his constituent’s education and to facilitate access to roads and healthcare.

6 filed in Tolon constituency

In the Tolon constituency where six aspirants filed their nominations, a former MP, Alhaji Umar Abdul Razak said the absence of NDC MP is affecting the constituency and that should he emerge winner of the primaries he will continue the good work of the NDC government.

The five are Hajia Azara Mahamadu, Fuesini Haruna Andan,Mohammed Jimah Awudu Donaa Issah and a former MP, Alhaji Umar Abdul Razak. 

In all, over 200 aspirants picked nomination forms to contest the Parliamentary primaries in 31 constituencies. Bimbila and Bunkprugu constituencies recorded 10 aspirants each. Tamale north recorded seven, Tamale central four, Tamale south two, Tolon six, Savelugu five, Walewale four, Karaga six, Mion seven, Saboba two, Tatale three, Nantong two and Zabzugu two. Five District Chief Executives including Alhassan Fuseini of Gushiegu, Jaspa Moye of Kpandai and the Sawla-Tuna-Kalba DCE, Issac Dramani are in the race. 





Promoted on slideshow: 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.